Report Footer display.

forum.reportbuilder (2000-2005) & forum.td.reportbuilder (2005-2010)
NewsgroupServer
Robot
Robot
Posts: 116488
Joined: 24 Feb 2017, 12:00
Location: World wide

Report Footer display.

Post by NewsgroupServer » 21 Jul 2008, 16:31

 Posted by:  Raj 

Hello All,

Is there a way to print the Report footer always at the bottom of the page?
Please help me.

Thanks,
Raj.

NewsgroupServer
Robot
Robot
Posts: 116488
Joined: 24 Feb 2017, 12:00
Location: World wide

Report Footer display.

Post by NewsgroupServer » 22 Jul 2008, 12:21

 Posted by:  Elio Boezio 

Hi Raj

The Report Footer appears at the end of the complete report (that is, only on the last page). The Page Footer appears at the bottom of each page; so if there's something on the Report Footer that you want to appear on each page, you need to put that into the Page Footer as well.

Hope this helps,
Elio

NewsgroupServer
Robot
Robot
Posts: 116488
Joined: 24 Feb 2017, 12:00
Location: World wide

Report Footer display.

Post by NewsgroupServer » 22 Jul 2008, 20:25

 Posted by:  Raj 

Hi Elio,

Thanks for your response. Appreciated.

My situation is that we have a pre-printed form in which we print our Purchase Orders. Currently the details are printed in one page and there is a page footer. But there are situation where the details run to two pages in which case I would like the details on the page footer to be printed only on the second page and not repeat everypage.

Is there a way to control to print the page footer details only on the second page if the details run to two pages?

I hope I made it clear.

Once again I thank you in advance for your help.

Raj.

NewsgroupServer
Robot
Robot
Posts: 116488
Joined: 24 Feb 2017, 12:00
Location: World wide

Report Footer display.

Post by NewsgroupServer » 22 Jul 2008, 22:19

 Posted by:  Jeff Luther 

Sounds like you just want to use the Report Footer, Raj, and not the Page Footer at all.

NewsgroupServer
Robot
Robot
Posts: 116488
Joined: 24 Feb 2017, 12:00
Location: World wide

Report Footer display.

Post by NewsgroupServer » 22 Jul 2008, 22:22

 Posted by:  Jeff Luther 

Rather abrupt! Sorry, hit wrong key.

As I was saying, using the Report Footer:

-- if 1 page RF prints at the bottom of that page

-- if 2 pages RF prints at the bottom of the second page.

In both case, it will print at the bottom of the *last* page, no matter if 1 or 2 pages. From your description this sounds like exactly what you want.

- Jeff Luther
Unify

NewsgroupServer
Robot
Robot
Posts: 116488
Joined: 24 Feb 2017, 12:00
Location: World wide

Report Footer display.

Post by NewsgroupServer » 23 Jul 2008, 09:13

 Posted by:  F R Bhote 

Presuming that there is a break group on the Purchase Order number, you can use the break group footer.

NewsgroupServer
Robot
Robot
Posts: 116488
Joined: 24 Feb 2017, 12:00
Location: World wide

Report Footer display.

Post by NewsgroupServer » 23 Jul 2008, 09:32

 Posted by:  Elio Boezio 

Jeff,

Doesn't that mean treating each document (in Raj's case a Purchase Order) as a separate report? So if one is doing a batch print run, one would have to loop through all the documents and call SalReportPrint individually?

Elio

NewsgroupServer
Robot
Robot
Posts: 116488
Joined: 24 Feb 2017, 12:00
Location: World wide

Report Footer display.

Post by NewsgroupServer » 23 Jul 2008, 09:35

 Posted by:  Elio Boezio 

Is it possible to force the break group footer to the bottom of the page? I understand Raj has a preprinted form, so presumably the information needs to appear in specific locations.

Presuming that there is a break group on the Purchase Order number, you can use the break group footer.

NewsgroupServer
Robot
Robot
Posts: 116488
Joined: 24 Feb 2017, 12:00
Location: World wide

Report Footer display.

Post by NewsgroupServer » 23 Jul 2008, 22:27

 Posted by:  Raj 

Hello all,

I really appreciate all your suggestions. Great. Does anyone can provide me the code how I can go about doing your suggestions.

Thanks aagain for your kind help.

Raj.

NewsgroupServer
Robot
Robot
Posts: 116488
Joined: 24 Feb 2017, 12:00
Location: World wide

Report Footer display.

Post by NewsgroupServer » 24 Jul 2008, 17:20

 Posted by:  Jeff Luther 

"Doesn't that mean treating each document (in Raj's case a Purchase Order) as a separate report?" - Yes. Isn't each PO a separate PO and thus a separate report?

Otherwise, it depends on how it is configured (or how you look at it): If you want to print out several PO's and have, say, some summary info. that might info. as to what was printed as a 'report footer' (list list of customers invoices, their PO #s, total invoiced, etc.) then that too would be a separate report with a separate SQL query, or perhaps a summary report based on the data totals the app. kept while the PO data were being fetched and turned into reports.

- Jeff

NewsgroupServer
Robot
Robot
Posts: 116488
Joined: 24 Feb 2017, 12:00
Location: World wide

Report Footer display.

Post by NewsgroupServer » 24 Jul 2008, 18:26

 Posted by:  Laura 

hI all,
I use for ivoice report : to print total only on footer last page
i use: TotalPages() in a a formula like this in header report:
NumberToStrPicture( PageNumber(),'#0') || '/' || StrIFF( TotalPages() , '' ,
NumberToStrPicture( 1 , '#0' ) , NumberToStrPicture( TotalPages() , '#0' ) )
in Page Footer i use to conditional dispaly
NumberIFF( TotalPages() , 0 , 1- end_doc_print,TotalPages()-PageNumber())
the "end_doc_print" is a variable set a 1 in the application at end invoice

(workround for TotalPages's bug if a report only one page TD 3.1 ptf3)
i use TD 3.1 ptf3
Sorry for my rough English!
Very truly Yours.
Laura

NewsgroupServer
Robot
Robot
Posts: 116488
Joined: 24 Feb 2017, 12:00
Location: World wide

Report Footer display.

Post by NewsgroupServer » 25 Jul 2008, 09:21

 Posted by:  Elio Boezio 

Thanks Jeff - I guess I've exposed my "batch processing" background... ;-) We tend to print (large quantities) of accounts, POs, GRAs, etc. in bulk - as a single batch report run.

Regards,
Elio

NewsgroupServer
Robot
Robot
Posts: 116488
Joined: 24 Feb 2017, 12:00
Location: World wide

Report Footer display.

Post by NewsgroupServer » 25 Jul 2008, 22:12

 Posted by:  Raj 

Thanks very much Laura.

Could you please give me the code where to define the variable end_doc_print
under the report sections?

Also when I tried to create the formula that you had given I am getting an
error in StrIFF( TotalPages() ) Is this syntax right?

Once again I appreciate your kind help.

Regards,
Raj.

NewsgroupServer
Robot
Robot
Posts: 116488
Joined: 24 Feb 2017, 12:00
Location: World wide

Report Footer display.

Post by NewsgroupServer » 26 Jul 2008, 18:56

 Posted by:  Jeff Luther 

"We tend to print (large quantities) of accounts, POs, GRAs, etc. in bulk - as a single batch report run." - That's ok, each PO is still a single report, so there shouldn't be a reason that you couldn't loop in a SqlFetchNext() loop, for example. The SAM_ReportFinish msg. lets you know then RB has completed a report.

Or, if you do them all as 'one' report, the report layout would then need to not use the Report Header/Footer blocks, since from RB's standpoint there's only that 'one' report. In that case I might look at the Break Group Header/Footer to perhaps be the 'start' and 'end' of a single P.O., since the BG can be set to, for example, force a new page when the break group item changes value. That value might be a cust_id or something guaranteed to be unique between reports.

If you use something like a cust_id value, don't forget: you can declare the cust_id as an input item but that doesn't mean it has to show up in the report itself. You can use an input item in a formula or as a trigger or state-change item in the BG, as I mentioned.

- Jeff Luther
Unify

NewsgroupServer
Robot
Robot
Posts: 116488
Joined: 24 Feb 2017, 12:00
Location: World wide

Report Footer display.

Post by NewsgroupServer » 29 Jul 2008, 18:37

 Posted by:  Elio Boezio 

... that should about cover it...! ;-)

Return to “td.reportbuilder”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: [Ccbot] and 0 guests