How can I hide User and Password data from URL?

forum.centura.web.developer (2000-2005) & forum.td.web (2005-2010)
czavala
Honduras
Posts: 197
Joined: 02 Oct 2018, 17:35
Location: San Pedro Sula, Honduras

How can I hide User and Password data from URL?

Post by czavala » 07 Oct 2006, 17:34

 Posted by:  Conrado Zavala 

Hello,

I have an application with a log in page which is working fine but two thing
caught my attention:

1. After submitting frmHome to get frmInventory the URL shown at the top
shows the entered values for dfUsername and dfPassword. I would like to
hide this information. How can I achieve that?

2. The other thing I saw is that if I open a new Internet explorer session
and bypass the login page (frmHome) by writing a URL sentence to go directly
frmInventory the user is able to look up to data without having the need to
log into the application.

I'm sure of doing something wrong but I don't know what it is. I will
appreciate Your always helpful answer.

Regards,

Conrado

Yannick Fenner

How can I hide User and Password data from URL?

Post by Yannick Fenner » 10 Oct 2006, 11:47

 Posted by:  Yannick Fenner 

How did you achieve this submit ?

By the way, is your application reusable ?

czavala
Honduras
Posts: 197
Joined: 02 Oct 2018, 17:35
Location: San Pedro Sula, Honduras

How can I hide User and Password data from URL?

Post by czavala » 11 Oct 2006, 04:10

 Posted by:  Conrado Zavala 

Hello Yannick,

First of all thank you for your answer. I have a login page which hold a
"User Name" and "Password" data field. This page also have a "Submit"
button. After clicking on it validates the access. If access is granted
creates frmInventory and destroy frmHome. The application is reusable.

Regards,

Conrado

Yannick Fenner

How can I hide User and Password data from URL?

Post by Yannick Fenner » 11 Oct 2006, 08:45

 Posted by:  Yannick Fenner 

I wanted to know which precise intstructions you are using when clicking on
this submit button. Maybe you could give me your sample ?

I am asking that because from what I know there is no reason for the window
to use parameters like this if you did use classic instruction
"PassControlByName" to navigate between your windows...

You should have something like this on your submit button :

On SAM_Click
If ValidationOfTheCode( )
Call frmHome.PassControlByName( 'frmInventory' )

Do you have something like this ?

czavala
Honduras
Posts: 197
Joined: 02 Oct 2018, 17:35
Location: San Pedro Sula, Honduras

How can I hide User and Password data from URL?

Post by czavala » 11 Oct 2006, 17:47

 Posted by:  Conrado Zavala 

Thank You Yannick, I was using a SalCreateWindow( frmInventory ) and then
SalDestroyWindow( hWndForm )... Now is working fine... I appreciate your
concern and willingness to serve others...

Have a good one. Regards,

Conrado

Return to “td.web”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: [Ccbot] and 0 guests