Buffer length of SalStrLop

General discussion forum about all things Team Developer 6.x
User avatar
Peter.Hugk
Germany
Posts: 9
Joined: 06 Mar 2017, 07:48
Location: Germany

Buffer length of SalStrLop

Post by Peter.Hugk » 22 Nov 2017, 15:07

Documentation doesn't mention it, but is there a limitation to 32,768 bytes?
By calling SalStrLop on a string longer than 32,768 it gets cut to that size.

Dave Rabelink
Founder/Site Admin
Founder/Site Admin
Netherlands
Posts: 484
Joined: 24 Feb 2017, 09:12
Location: Gouda, The Netherlands

Re: Buffer length of SalStrLop

Post by Dave Rabelink » 22 Nov 2017, 15:33

I can not reproduce this.

See attachment test application.
StrLobTest.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards,
Dave Rabelink

Image
Articles and information on Team Developer Tips & Tricks Wiki
Download samples, documents and resources from TD Sample Vault
Videos on TDWiki YouTube Channel

Jeff Luther
Site Admin
Site Admin
United States of America
Posts: 124
Joined: 04 Mar 2017, 18:34
Location: Palm Springs, California

Re: Buffer length of SalStrLop

Post by Jeff Luther » 22 Nov 2017, 19:04

I wrote a similar test, Dave, and see that it is only in TD v6.3 that SalStrLop() resets string size to 32768, as shown in the attachment. v5.2, 6.1/6.2 and 7.0 all work OK.

There's a workaround I have attached that can be coded to substitute for SalStrLop() for v6.3:

Code: Select all

Function: SalStrLopWorkaround
	Description:
	Returns
		Number:
	Parameters
		Receive String: rp_sIn
	Static Variables
	Local variables
		Number: nChar
		String: sChar
	Actions
		Set sChar = SalStrMidX( rp_sIn, 0, 1 )
		Call SalStrFirstC( sChar, nChar )
		Set rp_sIn = SalStrRightX( rp_sIn, SalStrLength( rp_sIn )-1 )
		!
		Return nChar
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jeff Luther @ PC Design
Palm Springs, California
TD info. & samples: http://www.jeffluther.net/TD/

H3PO4
Germany
Posts: 30
Joined: 10 Mar 2017, 07:53
Location: Rohlstorf, Germany

Re: Buffer length of SalStrLop

Post by H3PO4 » 23 Nov 2017, 08:04

Hi,

thanks for testing, Jeff and Dave!

Best regards
Henning

User avatar
Peter.Hugk
Germany
Posts: 9
Joined: 06 Mar 2017, 07:48
Location: Germany

Re: Buffer length of SalStrLop

Post by Peter.Hugk » 27 Nov 2017, 07:40

Thank you Jeff. I will create a ticket for that.

EwaldP
Austria
Posts: 60
Joined: 07 Mar 2017, 08:00
Location: Austria

Re: Buffer length of SalStrLop

Post by EwaldP » 27 Nov 2017, 09:20

Hi,

With Dave's sample I can't reproduce the problem with 6.3 SP2
2017-11-27 10_18_13-EDVHAUS-DEV03 - edvhaus-dev03 - Remotedesktopverbindung.png
2017-11-27 10_18_51-EDVHAUS-DEV03 - edvhaus-dev03 - Remotedesktopverbindung.png
2017-11-27 10_19_00-EDVHAUS-DEV03 - edvhaus-dev03 - Remotedesktopverbindung.png
Regards
Ewald
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Ewald P. Palmetshofer
EDV-Hausleitner GmbH
4020 Linz
www.edv-hausleitner.at

Jeff Luther
Site Admin
Site Admin
United States of America
Posts: 124
Joined: 04 Mar 2017, 18:34
Location: Palm Springs, California

Re: Buffer length of SalStrLop

Post by Jeff Luther » 27 Nov 2017, 17:05

I should have mentioned: my TD v6.3 install is SP1, and it's that specific version among the TDs I have where this fails.

I just looked on Dave R's Wiki for the bug fix list for 6.3 SP2 and couldn't find it. Perhaps that bug got fixed?? Check to see if it has been fixed as your SP2 install should include the fixed bug list, Ewald, and let us know if you find it. Thanks.
Jeff Luther @ PC Design
Palm Springs, California
TD info. & samples: http://www.jeffluther.net/TD/

User avatar
Peter.Hugk
Germany
Posts: 9
Joined: 06 Mar 2017, 07:48
Location: Germany

Re: Buffer length of SalStrLop

Post by Peter.Hugk » 28 Nov 2017, 09:00

I got an answer from Mike on my ticket:
I've searched the bugs database and there haven't been any changes to this function for ages, certainly before 6.3. It seems that this has been fixed as part of another fix perhaps, but nothing looks to have changed with the SP2 version that would affect this.

I understand your reluctance to move to a new version, but Development wouldn't fix a 6.3 SP1 bug and give it back to you specifically as a 6.3 SP1 version. If identified, it would have to go to something like 6.3 SP10. They probably won't be that keen on investigating why it happesns if it's only a problem with 6.3 SP1 and can't be reproduced after that.
On behalf of this I decided to let him close the ticket. We now hope that 7.0.4 will be error free (from our point of view) because every version after SP 1 had got at least one new bug which let us hesitate to upgrade.

EwaldP
Austria
Posts: 60
Joined: 07 Mar 2017, 08:00
Location: Austria

Re: Buffer length of SalStrLop

Post by EwaldP » 28 Nov 2017, 09:38

Hi Jeff,

I've searched the fixed bug lists for 6.3 SP2/ 6.3SP2 Update1 und 6.3SP2 Update2 on my drive, but there is no hint for a change.

Regards
Ewald
Ewald P. Palmetshofer
EDV-Hausleitner GmbH
4020 Linz
www.edv-hausleitner.at

Jeff Luther
Site Admin
Site Admin
United States of America
Posts: 124
Joined: 04 Mar 2017, 18:34
Location: Palm Springs, California

Re: Buffer length of SalStrLop

Post by Jeff Luther » 28 Nov 2017, 16:31

I've searched the fixed bug lists for 6.3 SP2/ 6.3SP2 Update1 und 6.3SP2 Update2 on my drive, but there is no hint for a change.
Thanks for the update, Ewald. It's not unheard-of for a TD fix to have had as a side-effect in the code, in this case, a change that 'fixes' something else (like SalStrLop). Maybe a fix to underlying some string storage capacity or bug that affected other SalStr functions (?)

I'd expect TD v6.3 initial release and v6.3 SP1 -- which I have -- to show the SalStrLop bug. Some code that was changed for v6.3 in the SP1 build and got fixed (or changed, with a 'fix' as the side-effect) for the v6.3 SP2 and later releases, perhaps.

BTW, a favor: How about attaching a zip of the v6.3 SP2 bug fix list, if you would. I'd be interested in seeing what that list contains. Or maybe Dave R. or someone else can point me to his TD Wiki where all the past TDs' versions info. + fix lists are located. I think the info. is in the Wiki. I just couldn't find it. Thanks!
Jeff Luther @ PC Design
Palm Springs, California
TD info. & samples: http://www.jeffluther.net/TD/

Dave Rabelink
Founder/Site Admin
Founder/Site Admin
Netherlands
Posts: 484
Joined: 24 Feb 2017, 09:12
Location: Gouda, The Netherlands

Re: Buffer length of SalStrLop

Post by Dave Rabelink » 04 Dec 2017, 08:56

Jeff Luther wrote:
28 Nov 2017, 16:31
BTW, a favor: How about attaching a zip of the v6.3 SP2 bug fix list, if you would. I'd be interested in seeing what that list contains. Or maybe Dave R. or someone else can point me to his TD Wiki where all the past TDs' versions info. + fix lists are located. I think the info. is in the Wiki. I just couldn't find it. Thanks!
Hi Jeff,

On the TD WIKI, the starting page for TD versions and their info:

http://wiki.tdcommunity.net/index.php/T ... r_versions

On each TD version page, a link is present to the release notes/fixlists which are stored in the TD Sample Vault.

But you can also go straight into the Sample Vault TD releasenotes folder to have a complete list of the RN and fixlists for each version:

http://samples.tdcommunity.net/index.p ... easeNotes/
Regards,
Dave Rabelink

Image
Articles and information on Team Developer Tips & Tricks Wiki
Download samples, documents and resources from TD Sample Vault
Videos on TDWiki YouTube Channel

EwaldP
Austria
Posts: 60
Joined: 07 Mar 2017, 08:00
Location: Austria

Re: Buffer length of SalStrLop

Post by EwaldP » 04 Dec 2017, 09:11

Wow. Thank you Dave. That' good for me. Saves time :)

Regards
Ewald
Ewald P. Palmetshofer
EDV-Hausleitner GmbH
4020 Linz
www.edv-hausleitner.at

Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ccbot [Crawler] and 0 guests