How to Identify Change of screen (form/dialog window) Size

Discussion forum about all things Team Developer 5.x and 6.x
Viswanadha
India
Posts: 4
Joined: 12 Jul 2018, 10:24
Location: Chennai, India

How to Identify Change of screen (form/dialog window) Size

Post by Viswanadha » 23 Aug 2018, 09:21

Hi All,

I am using CTD6.3. There is an issue is occurring intermittently on WinX with the CTD Application. At times, when the application is opened only approximately 25% of the screen is visible.

I want to know how to identify screen (form/dialog window) size at run time

Thanks in Advance.
Viswa

Dave Rabelink
Founder/Site Admin
Founder/Site Admin
Netherlands
Posts: 1088
Joined: 24 Feb 2017, 09:12
Location: Gouda, The Netherlands

How to Identify Change of screen (form/dialog window) Size

Post by Dave Rabelink » 27 Aug 2018, 05:53

I'm not sure what you are asking exactly.

But here some remarks on form/dialog size and resolution vs DPI and font settings.

When a form/dialog has wrong dimensions on particular systems, it may be due to font settings or DPI settings.

DPI, which is set in Windows 10 scale & layout preferences and called "Change the size of text.." and has a default of 100%.
When increasing DPI, screens get bigger relatively to the monitor dimensions. Text is bigger so forms/dialogs which are designed for lower DPI will be truncated (do not fit the monitor).

The same applies to font size. When the TD application uses a font size System default, the GUI (form/dialog) will increase or decrease in size.
Could be that the system has a large font size which makes the form which was designed in a smaller font size be truncated.

As for checking the current DPI setting programmatically, here a sample:

http://samples.tdcommunity.net/index.ph ... iceDPI.zip

To check the resolution (for any monitor actually used on the system), to check the form/dialog size, all can be found in this sample:

http://samples.tdcommunity.net/index.ph ... nitors.zip

( which is part of this WIKI article -> How to (re)position windows on multi-monitor setups )

Search in the sample code for

GetSystemMetrics, GetWindowRect, GetMonitorInfo


But maybe you have a different issue.

Could you post a screenshot showing problem and give the information for screen resolution, font settings for the form/dialog and DPI settings?

(extra question: are the forms/dialogs using font MS Sans Serif ?)
Regards,
Dave Rabelink

Image
Articles and information on Team Developer Tips & Tricks Wiki
Download samples, documents and resources from TD Sample Vault
Videos on TDWiki YouTube Channel

Viswanadha
India
Posts: 4
Joined: 12 Jul 2018, 10:24
Location: Chennai, India

Re: How to Identify Change of screen (form/dialog window) Size

Post by Viswanadha » 17 Sep 2018, 13:57

Thanks Dave. I will check and get back to you.

Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: [Ccbot] and 0 guests