Searchable Menus?

Discussion forum about all things Gupta, OpenText and the community.
OeavDev
Austria
Posts: 98
Joined: 15 May 2018, 11:18
Location: Vienna

Searchable Menus?

Post by OeavDev » 13 Mar 2024, 10:46

Hi,

we have a big software with hundreds of popup menu-items. Is there any (easy) possibility to implement a search function for these menu items and display a hit list in a grid, where the user has the option to call the menu entry directly from the hit list?

OeavDev
Austria
Posts: 98
Joined: 15 May 2018, 11:18
Location: Vienna

Re: Searchable Menus?

Post by OeavDev » 15 Mar 2024, 13:16

Any ideas for this topic?

Harald
Germany
Posts: 168
Joined: 30 Mar 2017, 06:16
Location: Rosenheim, Germany

Re: Searchable Menus?

Post by Harald » 15 Mar 2024, 14:24

Hii OeavDev,

you could create a small modless dialog box with a datafield for the search text and a grid/listbox with the "menu entries", and whenever the user enters a character, you populate the list with matching entries.

Kind regards
Harald

OeavDev
Austria
Posts: 98
Joined: 15 May 2018, 11:18
Location: Vienna

Re: Searchable Menus?

Post by OeavDev » 15 Mar 2024, 15:06

Hi Harald,

thanks for your reply. But the question is not so much, how to implement the search function, but more, if there is any fancy function or trick how to automatically get all the entries of all popup menus. I just don't want to manually write and maintain a dictionary with entries and functions. Sorry for the confusion.

Thank you and kind regards,
Michael (aka OeavDev)

OeavDev
Austria
Posts: 98
Joined: 15 May 2018, 11:18
Location: Vienna

Re: Searchable Menus?

Post by OeavDev » 18 Mar 2024, 15:50

So I'm afraid that there is no easy solution for this problem.

But it seems, it's only a matter of time. My company thinks about developing a completely new business solution without Gupta Team Developer. I'm very sorry to say this, but obviously the days of SQLWindows - and also mine, as a Gupta programmer - are counted. Good luck to the next generation of software developers. :mrgreen:

User avatar
Charlie
Canada
Posts: 647
Joined: 07 Mar 2017, 18:52
Location: Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada

Re: Searchable Menus?

Post by Charlie » 18 Mar 2024, 19:07

In my previous employment, we created a menu system that was very similar to the Windows start menu.

It allowed searching menu items, bookmarking menu items (favourites), etc.

A great replacement for traditional menu bar.

User avatar
Charlie
Canada
Posts: 647
Joined: 07 Mar 2017, 18:52
Location: Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada

Re: Searchable Menus?

Post by Charlie » 18 Mar 2024, 19:09

OeavDev wrote:
18 Mar 2024, 15:50
So I'm afraid that there is no easy solution for this problem.

But it seems, it's only a matter of time. My company thinks about developing a completely new business solution without Gupta Team Developer. I'm very sorry to say this, but obviously the days of SQLWindows - and also mine, as a Gupta programmer - are counted. Good luck to the next generation of software developers. :mrgreen:
That's a pity. I know of nothing today anywhere near the goodness that is Gupta Team Developer.

User avatar
Steve Leighton
Site Admin
Site Admin
New Zealand
Posts: 341
Joined: 05 Mar 2017, 20:57
Location: Stroud, England <--> Tauranga, New Zealand

Re: Searchable Menus?

Post by Steve Leighton » 19 Mar 2024, 04:35

Charlie wrote:
18 Mar 2024, 19:09
That's a pity. I know of nothing today anywhere near the goodness that is Gupta Team Developer.

Charlie +100


It seems to me that abandoning the greatness that is Team Developer for lack of builtin searchable menus seems madness.
But without this turning into a pro's and con's debate, every abandoner means all the more TD work for the loyal :)
Greetings from New Zealand
Steve Leighton

Bankside Systems Ltd.
UK ♦ Australia ♦ New Zealand

www.banksidesystems.co.uk

Image

alainw3
Switzerland
Posts: 4
Joined: 24 Feb 2024, 16:04
Location: Bière, Switzerland

Re: Searchable Menus?

Post by alainw3 » 20 Mar 2024, 13:42

hI ,

it's depend how your menus are constructed : if your menus are coded by SalMenuInsert.. ou VisMenuInsert.... , you put the windows handle of the menu in an array by SalWindowHandleToNumber, and "browse" inside the array to find the searched menu.(SalStrScan(SalMenuGetText (SalNumberToWindowHandle))) . It tough to code though.

If the menus are hard coded , I think, the only solution is creating a disctionnary.

I hope it helps,

Regards,
Alain

OeavDev
Austria
Posts: 98
Joined: 15 May 2018, 11:18
Location: Vienna

Re: Searchable Menus?

Post by OeavDev » 20 Mar 2024, 14:27

Hm, it seems even possible with hardcoded Named Menus. Currently I'm able to get the Menutext with


Set hMenu = VisMenuGetHandle( mdi1 )
Set ml1 = VisMenuGetText( mdi1, hMenu, 0 )

But unfortunatly I'm not able to send a Mouseclick to it:

Call SalSendMsg( SalNumberToWindowHandle( hMenu ), SAM_Click, wParam, lParam )

OeavDev
Austria
Posts: 98
Joined: 15 May 2018, 11:18
Location: Vienna

Re: Searchable Menus?

Post by OeavDev » 20 Mar 2024, 15:28

So, I have the solution: Every menuitem has its own, unique index. Call SalSendMsg( hWndMDI, WM_COMMAND,1025, lParam ) clicks on the first menuitem. Honestly I have no idea, why it's 1024 + MenuItemIndex, but it works.
So i 'just have to iterate through all menuitems store index and text of all available/enabled Items in an array and display them in a dropdown. And so our customers finally get this super-fancy-autocomplete-dynamic-menu-search-feature in their dashboard.

Thank you for your help and the proof that the SQLWindows Community is still alive and in good condition :D

Best regards,
Michael

Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: [Ccbot] and 0 guests