Problem with SQL error after migration

Discussion forum about all things SqlBase.
sdk69

Problem with SQL error after migration

Post by sdk69 » 30 Jul 2015, 10:31

Hi,

I'm working on a migration from TD 3.1 to 6.2. I used the wizard to migrate the sources, had to fix a few imports and encoding issues and now most of the app works fine, except for SQL errors.

On the old version of the app, for example if the user wanted to change the password, a popup would appear saying "SQL Error n° 32101 : you have to use numbers in the new password." but on the new version it just says "SQL error n°32101", the description is skipped.

I'm new to TD so I have a lot of trouble finding what's the issue but I think that the function in cause is "PrintSqlError" maybe this is deprecated but I can't find anything about it.
The app communicate with a UNIX server which hosts the sql files in which the procedures and "raise error xxxx" calls are, nothing has changed on the server.

I hope I posted in the right place and that my english is understandable.

Thank you very much for your help.

PS : this is sybase that we use for the db

Charlie
Canada

Re: Problem with SQL error after migration

Post by Charlie » 30 Jul 2015, 11:45

G'day,

"PrintSqlError" sounds like a custom function (i.e. not one of the native Team Developer functions that start with either "Sal" or "Sql".)

Where is the function located in your app's SAL outline ?

sdk69

Post by sdk69 » 30 Jul 2015, 13:19

Thank you for your answer.

You are right this was not a native function, I missed that. The function does the following :

Call SalModalDialog( dlgSqlError, hWndMDI, hSql, bDern )

Can you be more specific about what is the "SAL outline" ? Thank you.

My function PrintSqlError is called from all the places that can possibly generate errors at one point. It seems to take the sybase cursor (hSqlgSYBASE) as a parameter with a boolean. Hope this helps.

Charlie
Canada

Post by Charlie » 31 Jul 2015, 12:31