SP2: Report builder crashes

Discussion forum about all things Report Builder (all versions).
Nils Jänicke
Germany
Posts: 423
Joined: 20 Sep 2017, 11:56
Location: Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany

SP2: Report builder crashes

Post by Nils Jänicke » 06 Apr 2011, 09:41

Report builder crashes at start after installation of TD 6.1 SP2.
The tool "Depency walker" notes:

Code: Select all

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Starting profile on 06.04.2011 at 10:35:13

Operating System: Microsoft Windows XP Professional (32-bit), version 5.01.2600 Service Pack 3
Program Executable: c:\programme\unify\team developer 6.0\REPBI60.EXE
Program Arguments: 
Starting Directory: C:\Programme\Unify\Team Developer 6.0\
Search Path: C:\Programme\Unify\Team Developer 6.0\axis2c\lib;C:\Programme\Unify\Team Developer 6.0;C:\WINDOWS\system32;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\system32\wbem;Deploy\Axis2\Lib;C:\Programme\Unify\Team Developer 5.1\axis2c\lib;axis2c\lib;C:\Programme\Unify\Team Developer 5.1;C:\oracle\product\10.2.0\client_1\bin;C:\Programme\Gupta\Team Developer 3.1;C:\Centura\XSal2;C:\Programme\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel;C:\Programme\UltraEdit;C:\Centura;C:\Programme\Symantec\pcAnywhere;C:\Issos7;C:\Programme\Microsoft SQL Server\80\Tools\BINN;C:\Programme\CIB software GmbH\CIB pdf brewer;C:\Programme\Microsoft SQL Server\80\Tools\Binn;E:\Programme\Microsoft SQL Server\90\Tools\binn;E:\Programme\Microsoft SQL Server\90\DTS\Binn;E:\Programme\Microsoft SQL Server\90\Tools\Binn\VSShell\Common7\IDE;C:\Programme\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\Common7\IDE\PrivateAssemblies;C:\Programme\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static;C:\WINDOWS\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0;

Options Selected:
     Log first chance exceptions.
     Log debug output messages.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Started "REPBI60.EXE" (process 0xF64) at address 0x00400000.
Loaded "NTDLL.DLL" at address 0x7C910000.
Loaded "KERNEL32.DLL" at address 0x7C800000.
Loaded "GCTLI60.DLL" at address 0x10000000.
Loaded "GTLSI60.DLL" at address 0x00350000.
Loaded "VERSION.DLL" at address 0x77BD0000.
Loaded "MFC80U.DLL" at address 0x782E0000.
Loaded "MSVCR80.DLL" at address 0x78130000.
Loaded "MSVCRT.DLL" at address 0x77BE0000.
Loaded "GDI32.DLL" at address 0x77EF0000.
Loaded "USER32.DLL" at address 0x7E360000.
Loaded "SHLWAPI.DLL" at address 0x77F40000.
Loaded "ADVAPI32.DLL" at address 0x77DA0000.
Loaded "RPCRT4.DLL" at address 0x77E50000.
Loaded "SECUR32.DLL" at address 0x77FC0000.
Loaded "COMDLG32.DLL" at address 0x76350000.
Loaded "COMCTL32.DLL" at address 0x5D450000.
Loaded "SHELL32.DLL" at address 0x7E670000.
Loaded "WINSPOOL.DRV" at address 0x72F70000.
Loaded "PROFUIS288U_TD.DLL" at address 0x00650000.
Loaded "OLE32.DLL" at address 0x774B0000.
Loaded "OLEAUT32.DLL" at address 0x770F0000.
Loaded "WINMM.DLL" at address 0x76AF0000.
Loaded "MSVCP80.DLL" at address 0x7C420000.
Loaded "MSIMG32.DLL" at address 0x76320000.
Loaded "DBQRI60.DLL" at address 0x01630000.
Loaded "GEEI60.DLL" at address 0x01870000.
Loaded "SNUMI60.DLL" at address 0x003C0000.
Loaded "PROFUIS288U-RDE.DLL" at address 0x018D0000.
Loaded "CGSQI60.DLL" at address 0x028B0000.
Loaded "GOBJI60.DLL" at address 0x028D0000.
Loaded "OLECLI32.DLL" at address 0x71D90000.
Loaded "MPR.DLL" at address 0x71A80000.
Loaded "IMGMAN81.DLL" at address 0x02900000.
Loaded "CGUTI60.DLL" at address 0x02960000.
Loaded "RDWI60.DLL" at address 0x029A0000.
Loaded "GSWDLL32.DLL" at address 0x20000000.
Loaded "GSWAG32.DLL" at address 0x02B60000.
Loaded "COMCTL32.DLL" at address 0x773A0000.
Loaded "REPPDFLIB60.DLL" at address 0x02BA0000.
Loaded "GDIPLUS.DLL" at address 0x4EBA0000.
Loaded "MSCMS.DLL" at address 0x73AA0000.
Loaded "SQLWNTM10.DLL" at address 0x02E00000.
Loaded "MSVCR71.DLL" at address 0x7C340000.
Loaded "SRVCI60.DLL" at address 0x02E10000.
Loaded "CDKI60.DLL" at address 0x02EA0000.
Loaded "CDLLI60.DLL" at address 0x02F10000.
Loaded "TABLI60.DLL" at address 0x03460000.
Loaded "GPTDODBU32.DLL" at address 0x034B0000.
Loaded "SSTI60.DLL" at address 0x034C0000.
Loaded "GXMLI60.DLL" at address 0x12000000.
Loaded "GPTPRDLMS60.DLL" at address 0x034F0000.
Loaded "MFC80.DLL" at address 0x781D0000.
Entrypoint reached. All implicit modules have been loaded.
Loaded "IMM32.DLL" at address 0x76330000.
Loaded "MFC80DEU.DLL" at address 0x5D360000.
Loaded "UXTHEME.DLL" at address 0x5B0F0000.
Loaded "IM8BMP.DIL" at address 0x03BB0000.
Loaded "IM8DXF.DIL" at address 0x03BD0000.
Loaded "IM8EPS.DIL" at address 0x03F20000.
Loaded "IM8FPX.DIL" at address 0x03F40000.
Loaded "IM8GIF.DIL" at address 0x040B0000.
Loaded "IM8IMG.DIL" at address 0x040E0000.
Loaded "IM8JP2.DIL" at address 0x04100000.
Loaded "IM8JPG.DIL" at address 0x04160000.
Loaded "IM8PCD.DIL" at address 0x041A0000.
Loaded "PCDLIB32.DLL" at address 0x041B0000.
Loaded "IM8PCX.DIL" at address 0x04320000.
Loaded "IM8PNG.DIL" at address 0x04340000.
Loaded "IM8TGA.DIL" at address 0x04370000.
Loaded "IM8TIF.DIL" at address 0x04390000.
Loaded "IM8WMF.DIL" at address 0x04430000.
Loaded "IM8WPG.DIL" at address 0x04450000.
Loaded "IM8XBMP.DEL" at address 0x04470000.
Unloaded "IM8XBMP.DEL" at address 0x04470000.
Loaded "IM8XDCX.DEL" at address 0x04470000.
Unloaded "IM8XDCX.DEL" at address 0x04470000.
Loaded "IM8XEPS.DEL" at address 0x04470000.
Unloaded "IM8XEPS.DEL" at address 0x04470000.
Loaded "IM8XGIF.DEL" at address 0x04470000.
Unloaded "IM8XGIF.DEL" at address 0x04470000.
Loaded "IM8XJP2.DEL" at address 0x04470000.
Unloaded "IM8XJP2.DEL" at address 0x04470000.
Loaded "IM8XJPG.DEL" at address 0x04470000.
Unloaded "IM8XJPG.DEL" at address 0x04470000.
Loaded "IM8XPCX.DEL" at address 0x04470000.
Unloaded "IM8XPCX.DEL" at address 0x04470000.
Loaded "IM8XPNG.DEL" at address 0x04470000.
Unloaded "IM8XPNG.DEL" at address 0x04470000.
Loaded "IM8XTIF.DEL" at address 0x04470000.
Unloaded "IM8XTIF.DEL" at address 0x04470000.
Loaded "MSCTF.DLL" at address 0x746A0000.
Loaded "MSCTFIME.IME" at address 0x75250000.
Loaded "SQLBAPW10.DLL" at address 0x04800000.
Loaded "ICUUC36.DLL" at address 0x4A800000.
Loaded "ICUDT36.DLL" at address 0x4AD00000.
Loaded "ICUIN36.DLL" at address 0x4A900000.
Loaded "CLBCATQ.DLL" at address 0x76F90000.
Loaded "COMRES.DLL" at address 0x77010000.
Loaded "XPSP2RES.DLL" at address 0x04870000.
First chance exception 0xC0000005 (Access Violation) occurred in "MFC80U.DLL" at address 0x78303FCA.
Second chance exception 0xC0000005 (Access Violation) occurred in "MFC80U.DLL" at address 0x78303FCA.
Exited "REPBI60.EXE" (process 0xF64) with code -1073741819 (0xC0000005).

User avatar
markus.essmayr
Austria
Posts: 892
Joined: 06 Mar 2017, 06:07
Location: Austria

Re: SP2: Report builder crashes

Post by markus.essmayr » 06 Apr 2011, 12:34

Hello,

that's right, RB crashes immediately after being launched, but only on Windows XP!
On Windows 7 it works.

Greetings,
Max
Markus Eßmayr
teamdeveloper@t-mx.com

Ana Paula Bonani

Re: SP2: Report builder crashes

Post by Ana Paula Bonani » 06 Apr 2011, 14:02

Hi,

How are you launching it?

I've launched it from the TD IDE and also from the Windows Start->All Programs->Unify and it doesn't crash for me.

See attached screenshot showing that I'm using RB 6.0 SP2 and Win XP SP3.
RB_SP2 on XP.zip
Thanks,
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Nils Jänicke
Germany
Posts: 423
Joined: 20 Sep 2017, 11:56
Location: Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany

Re: SP2: Report builder crashes

Post by Nils Jänicke » 06 Apr 2011, 14:11

Both is crashing...

Jeff Luther

Re: SP2: Report builder crashes

Post by Jeff Luther » 06 Apr 2011, 21:23

Let me try to help out a bit here too...

I see this thread and Ana's response. I too have a WinXP SP3 Dell machine and cannot repro. A clean install of v6 SP2 (uninstall SP1, full install of SP2). RB loads OK, I can open a query on ISLAND, Preview, Design, etc. all OK.

Ana asked internally and a developer reported the following. I've included his questions; maybe you 2, Max and Nils, can reply to his questions? Here's what he wrote:

Code: Select all

I tested RTM [TD v6 SP2-Released To Manufacture] build on German XP SP3 , it runs fine with that dll ( xpsp2res.dll ) loaded. 

A few  things  I can think of is 
      - the version of xpsp2res.dll. On the German VM, the version of XPSP2RES.dll is “ 5.01.2600.5512 “, is this the version as
        the customer ?

      - im8pcd.dil is not loaded on German XP VM, but loaded on customer’s machine, ( probably not related to crash )

      - the memory of their machines?, since xpsp2res.dll is a potential memory hog. German VM has 2 G memory

Nils Jänicke
Germany
Posts: 423
Joined: 20 Sep 2017, 11:56
Location: Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany

Re: SP2: Report builder crashes

Post by Nils Jänicke » 07 Apr 2011, 06:57

Version of XPSP2RES.DLL:

5.1.2600.5512
(xpsp.080413-2113)

im8pcd.dil is loaded.

Depency walker also noticed that the report builder tries to open ieshims.dll and wer.dll but cannot find them.

Here is a more detailed log of the depency walker, maybe it helps you a little bit more
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Ana Paula Bonani

Re: SP2: Report builder crashes

Post by Ana Paula Bonani » 08 Apr 2011, 09:02

Hi,

Here's some feedback:

Although we cannot reproduce on any of our machines locally, it appears that there are some problems when loading Microsoft Language Resource DLL (in this case MFC80DEU.DLL).

That's Microsoft's issue introduced with original VC++ redistributable package (http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/forums ... c7ba362fdb). The problem may happen if there are old Visual Studio redistributable packages installed on the machine.

The only solution is:
Step 1: Uninstall Visual Studio 2005 and 2005 SP1 redistributable packages from the Control Panel
Step2: Re-install Report Builder 6.0 SP2
Note --> Report Builder 6.0 SP2 will automatically install VS 2005 SP1 redistributable
Please let us know if that helps.

Thanks,

Nils Jänicke
Germany
Posts: 423
Joined: 20 Sep 2017, 11:56
Location: Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany

Re: SP2: Report builder crashes

Post by Nils Jänicke » 08 Apr 2011, 11:06

I've tried it. It has no effect.
But I have two different versions of the Repbi60.exe file:
In folder "Team Developer 6.0" the exe file is from 2010-10-28, File version "6.0, Build 23285M"
and extracted from RBDeploy in folder "RBDeploy 6.0" the file is from 2010-12-22 and File version is "6.0-SP1, Build 23731M"
I miss the SP2 file version of Report builder, it came not from the installation of TD 6.0 SP2 Full and there is no download for the report builder 6.0 SP2.
The version of the Team Developer path does not run, the one of the RBDeploy folder runs (so now it is a minor problem).

And some .dll files are different from Team Developer 6.0 SP2 installation and the Deploy of Team developer. What is the reason?

Nils

User avatar
markus.essmayr
Austria
Posts: 892
Joined: 06 Mar 2017, 06:07
Location: Austria

Re: SP2: Report builder crashes

Post by markus.essmayr » 08 Apr 2011, 11:23

Yeah, Nils you're right!
It seems to be an installer issue!

I just compared my installation directory on my Windows XP machine, with the one on my Windows 7 machine.
And...some files are different!

I now copied the whole directory from Windows 7 to Windows XP an now, also the Report Builder works!

Greetings,
Max
Markus Eßmayr
teamdeveloper@t-mx.com

Ana Paula Bonani

Re: SP2: Report builder crashes

Post by Ana Paula Bonani » 11 Apr 2011, 15:11

Hi Nils and Max,

I've been holding the release of Report Builder 6.0 SP2 stand-alone due to your reports on this issue.

I personally ran several tests on XP and involved our QA and Development teams on this quest as well.

Unfortunately, the problem is not reproducible from our side after testing on machines with several different versions of TD6 and RB6 installed. Nor we've heard about other customers with RB crashes in SP2.

I can only imagine that there were files in your environment from previous EMPs which weren't removed during TD6 SP2 setup. That is expected. TD6 SP2 setup will not remove EMP files so there could be a conflict of versions in your machines.

I will now approve the release RB6.0 SP2 stand-alone as this issue was very likely an environmental problem.

Thanks,

User avatar
markus.essmayr
Austria
Posts: 892
Joined: 06 Mar 2017, 06:07
Location: Austria

Re: SP2: Report builder crashes

Post by markus.essmayr » 11 Apr 2011, 15:22

Hi Ana,

when installing TD 6.0 SP2, I previously removed ALL files and even the installation directory.
So there was no "C:\Program Files\Unify\Team Developer 6.0" any more.
After that, I installed the complete TD 6.0 SP2 package.

When analyzing this crash, I found some files with version 6.0.1.xxxxx that should be 6.0.2.xxxxxx.
I don't know, where they came from.
Maybe there was an old MSI-file somewhere in Windows Installer's cache!?!?

Greetings,
Max
Markus Eßmayr
teamdeveloper@t-mx.com

Nils Jänicke
Germany
Posts: 423
Joined: 20 Sep 2017, 11:56
Location: Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany

Re: SP2: Report builder crashes

Post by Nils Jänicke » 11 Apr 2011, 15:24

Where can I get the Report Builder 6.0 SP2 stand alone? On the unify download page there is only SP1 and TD 6.0 SP2 seems also to install SP1.

User avatar
markus.essmayr
Austria
Posts: 892
Joined: 06 Mar 2017, 06:07
Location: Austria

Re: SP2: Report builder crashes

Post by markus.essmayr » 11 Apr 2011, 15:38

Nils,

I noticed the behaviour described above on my Windows XP machine, where I had SP1 installed before.
When I installed TD 6.0 SP2 on my Windows 7 machine, which is completely new (...where no TD has gone before! *gg*), the correct SP2 versions of Report Builder have been installed!

Greetings,
Max
Markus Eßmayr
teamdeveloper@t-mx.com

Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: [Ccbot] and 1 guest