QRP Print Preview Font Spacing TD 6.2.2 (upd 1)

Discussion forum about all things Report Builder (all versions).
Brian Howard

QRP Print Preview Font Spacing TD 6.2.2 (upd 1)

Post by Brian Howard » 07 May 2015, 06:06

Hi,

Running TD 6.2.2 Update 1 ( Build 42038 )

We went to Prod with the above version and now our users are screaming that QRP reports when viewed look rubbish. The issue appears to be that the characters are slightly larger and squashed together. I have tried a number of different fonts and font sizes and am unable to come up with a combination that displays correctly.

When the report prints the printed copy is fine, this issue is only in Print Preview.

I have attached a simple repro case to demonstrate, but here is a picture anyway.
PrintPreview.PNG
This wasn't an issue in 6.0, and I was hoping someone could advise if there is a way around this issue or whether it has been fixed in a later build.

Kind regards

Brian
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Dave Rabelink
Founder/Site Admin
Founder/Site Admin
Netherlands
Posts: 3388
Joined: 24 Feb 2017, 09:12
Location: Gouda, The Netherlands

Re: QRP Print Preview Font Spacing TD 6.2.2 (upd 1)

Post by Dave Rabelink » 07 May 2015, 06:26

I have tested your sample on several TD 6.2 SP & UPD combinations and also in TD 6.3.

I have no issue with the font spacing:
FontSpacingQrpTest.png

What Windows version is used?
Is RB installed on users system?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards,
Dave Rabelink

Image
Articles and information on Team Developer Tips & Tricks Wiki
Download samples, documents and resources from TD Sample Vault
Videos on TDWiki YouTube Channel

Brian Howard

Re: QRP Print Preview Font Spacing TD 6.2.2 (upd 1)

Post by Brian Howard » 07 May 2015, 06:40

Hi Dave,

Thankyou for the very prompt reply. It is heartening to see that it works correctly for you. this means that there has to be a way to get it to work for us.

I am using Win7 64, our customers are using Win7 32.

Report Builder is not installed on the customer's PC, they simply have the runtime files.

My PC has TD 6.2 installed, and I get the same issue.

Please advise if there is anything further I can offer to help resolve this.

Cheers
Brian

Dave Rabelink
Founder/Site Admin
Founder/Site Admin
Netherlands
Posts: 3388
Joined: 24 Feb 2017, 09:12
Location: Gouda, The Netherlands

Re: QRP Print Preview Font Spacing TD 6.2.2 (upd 1)

Post by Dave Rabelink » 07 May 2015, 06:49

Just to test:

- make a copy of the user runtime folder on your system
- remove all PATH settings for TD 6.2 on your system
- compile the sample to executable and place exe & qrp in the copied runtime folder
- run sample from there and see what happens

If the issue persists, make another folder having the default TD 6.2 SP2 runtime and redo the steps above.
(be sure to remove all PATH settings to any TD version)
Regards,
Dave Rabelink

Image
Articles and information on Team Developer Tips & Tricks Wiki
Download samples, documents and resources from TD Sample Vault
Videos on TDWiki YouTube Channel

Brian Howard

Re: QRP Print Preview Font Spacing TD 6.2.2 (upd 1)

Post by Brian Howard » 15 May 2015, 06:32

Hi Dave et al,

Thought I should advise where we are up to with this. Firstly an apology for not providing all relevant information when I first raised this issue, but at the time I didn't realise what was relevant and what was not.

Anyway this issue occurs when using a remote desktop session and when the screen resolution is set for a wide screen i.e. not 4x3.
It is not an issue on 64 bit windows servers 2008R2 ( and probably above ). However it is an issue when using a win 7 64 virtual pc or any 32 bit windows pcs / servers ( that I have been able to test on ).

The best I can tell is that TD 6.2 is compiled with VS 2008 while TD6.0 was compiled with 2005 as the print preview window in TD6.2 is of a class AfxWnd90u while TD6.0 is AfxWnd80u. From what I can see there is an issue between AfxWnd90u and the c++ redistributables when run on a remote desktop ( specifically COMCTL32.DLL ).

We are trying to find a way to install the 32 bit c++ redistributable files on the 32 bit servers to the same 32 bit dlls as on the 64 bit servers but so far no joy.

A really dodgy work around I have found is to make the following changes to the runtime directory.
1. replace rdwi62.dll with a renamed rdwi60.dll
2. add the following 6.0 files to the 6.2 runtime gctli60.dll, geei60.dll, gobji60.dll, gtlsi60.dll, ProfUIS288u_td.dll, ProfUIS288u-RDE.dll, repPdfLib60.dll & snumi60.dll.

This has the affect of displaying the print preview as a AfxWnd80u class, using c++ runtimes that work, just like TD6.0 worked. However, I am extremely reticent to take this "solution" to management.

I am advised that the side by side component that works is
c:\windows\winsxs\x86_microsoft.windows.common-controls_6595b64144ccf1df_6.0.7601.17514_none_41e6975e2bd6f2b2\COMCTL32.DLL
and the component that does not work
c:\windows\winsxs\x86_microsoft.windows.common-controls_6595b64144ccf1df_6.0.6002.18305_none_5cb72f2a088b0ed3\COMCTL32.DLL

Is there anything we can do that would cause the original rdwi62.dll to use the VS 2005 c++runtime files i.e. inject a manifest or some such?

If we were to go ahead with the above dodgy workaround, is rdwi62 the "entry point" for qrp processing?

Also as this was not an issue in TD 6.0 and is an issue in TD6.2 is this a Gupta issue or due to the c++ runtimes a Microsoft issue?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

cheers

Brian

wardies
Great Britain
Posts: 86
Joined: 21 Mar 2017, 10:44
Location: UK

Re: QRP Print Preview Font Spacing TD 6.2.2 (upd 1)

Post by wardies » 15 May 2015, 09:57

Brian,

We also see the same font widening on reports when using RDP from a PC with a wide screen display (TD 6.2.3.45008 UPD2).

I knew it was RDP-related but I hadn't pinned down exactly when it happened until you mentioned wide screen. Then I realised every time I've seen it has been from a wide screen PC.

Many of our customers will have wide screen PCs so we would need a (officially sanctioned) workaround or fix before we can release to production.

Best regards,
Marcel

Brian Howard

Re: QRP Print Preview Font Spacing TD 6.2.2 (upd 1)

Post by Brian Howard » 08 Jun 2015, 23:55

Hello Gupta,

This may be only a display issue, but it is important to our customers, and we are copping considerable slack because of this issue.
Could you please advise as to whether or not the work around previously mentioned is safe i.e.

1. replace rdwi62.dll with a renamed rdwi60.dll
2. add the following 6.0 files to the 6.2 runtime gctli60.dll, geei60.dll, gobji60.dll, gtlsi60.dll, ProfUIS288u_td.dll, ProfUIS288u-RDE.dll, repPdfLib60.dll & snumi60.dll.

( I am not asking you to support this work around, just to advise as to whether or not is safe and would only affect qrp processing )

or is there a better fix that you can suggest.

Thanking you in anticipation of receiving an answer
Brian

Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: [Ccbot] and 0 guests