Stop Moving the Find dialog box

Missing or incomplete OpenText Gupta product features? Discuss it here!
UVS

Stop Moving the Find dialog box

Post by UVS » 03 Aug 2010, 21:06

I can understand a bit why the FIND dialog box moves out of the way of text in the outline. But I don't understand why this happens, when the IDE is not full screen, and the FIND dialog is not covering the IDE in any way.

Is this really needed? When searching through code, it makes it very hard to go through many clicks. Because between clicks you might have to move the mouse. I do understand it is nice to have it move out of the way so you can click over to the highlighted protion and edit it if needed. But with today's large wide screen becoming the standard, the user can move the find dialog from being over the IDE window completly.

Thoughts????

MartinD
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

tlauzi

Re: Stop Moving the Find dialog box

Post by tlauzi » 04 Aug 2010, 08:44

Yep, I fully agree...

But I have to defend Unify. In older version the find dialog did not move, but a lot of users wanted this feature (Visaul Studio also does), so Unify implemented it.
I always hated it, because you are not able to step through the find result, because the box alwas hops away.

Because some want this feature and some not, the only solution is..

-Make an option in the TD settings for switch it on/off. (e. g. "Move search dialog away when it covers the search result" - Yes/No)
-Perhaps make the find dialog resizable

lairton
Brazil
Posts: 170
Joined: 15 Mar 2017, 19:32
Location: Brazil

Re: Stop Moving the Find dialog box

Post by lairton » 06 Aug 2010, 13:26

:)

please. stop moving this dialog !

UVS

Re: Stop Moving the Find dialog box

Post by UVS » 09 Aug 2010, 17:28

tlauzi wrote:Yep, I fully agree...

But I have to defend Unify. In older version the find dialog did not move, but a lot of users wanted this feature (Visaul Studio also does), so Unify implemented it.
I always hated it, because you are not able to step through the find result, because the box alwas hops away.

Because some want this feature and some not, the only solution is..

-Make an option in the TD settings for switch it on/off. (e. g. "Move search dialog away when it covers the search result" - Yes/No)
-Perhaps make the find dialog resizable
I'm sure some would want it to move, sometimes I actually like it that it moves. But when the Find dialog isn't over the IDE window, IMHO it shouldn't move. If the decision is to make it a setting, I would want that setting in the Find dialog box. Taht way I could change quickly as needed.

MartinD

MSchmidt
Germany
Posts: 299
Joined: 03 Jul 2017, 09:28
Location: Germany

Re: Stop Moving the Find dialog box

Post by MSchmidt » 10 Aug 2010, 11:03

yes stop moving the find dialog box or make it as an optional feature.

in a migration process you have to find lot's of entries in the code for replacing ...
and the focus is on the code found by the find dialog.
a blind click with the mouse on the last focussed button in the dialog box should be possible.

with a moving find dialog you always have to search the box for interaction via mouse.

thank you
Michael

clemdoc
Austria
Posts: 225
Joined: 08 Mar 2017, 09:51
Location: Austria

Re: Stop Moving the Find dialog box

Post by clemdoc » 10 Aug 2010, 12:46

mschmidt wrote:a blind click with the mouse on the last focussed button in the dialog box should be possible.
Would hitting F3 help you?

greetings, clem

MSchmidt
Germany
Posts: 299
Joined: 03 Jul 2017, 09:28
Location: Germany

Re: Stop Moving the Find dialog box

Post by MSchmidt » 10 Aug 2010, 14:00

of course in case of find again

but in case of replace there is no Keyboard accelarator

greetings
Michael

UVS

Re: Stop Moving the Find dialog box

Post by UVS » 12 Aug 2010, 16:23

clemdoc wrote:
mschmidt wrote:a blind click with the mouse on the last focussed button in the dialog box should be possible.
Would hitting F3 help you?

greetings, clem

Yes, F3 works and I do use it. But as Michael says, it doesn't work for Replace. But even then, I don't understand why the dialog moves when it isn't over any thing but a blank desktop. I can understand it when the IDE is maximized on the screen, but not when it is like the screen capture I put in the OP. Seems like a lot of other things in TD, "We added this better controls/objects/whatever" and they are only partial finished or not useable in most ways (RTF, GRID, Tab bar...).

MartinD
PS Maybe I should be careful on my comments or I might get all my posts deleted....

Jsfmllr
Germany
Posts: 69
Joined: 17 Nov 2019, 16:08
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Germany

Re: Stop Moving the Find dialog box

Post by Jsfmllr » 14 Oct 2011, 13:59

Hello dear UNIFY,

stop it - please.
it might be nice to watch a dialog move around the screen.
but it is enoying, if you have to watch the code when you have to decide whether a code should be replaced or wether to find the mext match.

i do not see any benefit in moving the dialog box

TIA

Sepp

User avatar
Charlie
Canada
Posts: 646
Joined: 07 Mar 2017, 18:52
Location: Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada

Re: Stop Moving the Find dialog box

Post by Charlie » 31 Oct 2011, 12:19

Honestly, the thing jumping around is driving me up the wall. But, maybe some folk find that useful, so ...

I'd be VERY HAPPY if I could dock the dialog. If that's an easy thing to do, maybe that could solve the problem for most of us?

Jsfmllr
Germany
Posts: 69
Joined: 17 Nov 2019, 16:08
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Germany

Re: Stop Moving the Find dialog box

Post by Jsfmllr » 23 Nov 2011, 16:01

Hello,

please stop moving the FindDialog outside of the screen.
Actually, my it had moved upwards and I did not have the chance to close it.

please give my a way to find all appearances of a text in my sourcefile

TIA
Sepp

Return to “Enhancement suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: [Ccbot] and 0 guests