TD-15232: SqlSetLongBindDatatype by VarName

Missing or incomplete OpenText Gupta product features? Discuss it here!
Georg Diczig
Germany
Posts: 175
Joined: 15 Mar 2017, 15:15
Location: Cologne Germany

TD-15232: SqlSetLongBindDatatype by VarName

Post by Georg Diczig » 08 Mar 2011, 13:56

It would be very helpful for us to get a function like:
SqlSetLongBindDatatypeByName( nBindVarName, nDatatype )
So that we can specify the name of the variable and not the position.

Thanks
Georg
Best Regards
Georg Diczig

Jeff Luther

Re: TD-15232: SqlSetLongBindDatatype by VarName

Post by Jeff Luther » 08 Mar 2011, 20:48

Out of curiousity, why would it be "very helpful" ?

Georg Diczig
Germany
Posts: 175
Joined: 15 Mar 2017, 15:15
Location: Cologne Germany

Re: TD-15232: SqlSetLongBindDatatype by VarName

Post by Georg Diczig » 08 Mar 2011, 23:48

Two aspects:

-Our DML statements in formwindows are generated automaticaly parsing the forms with SalGetNextChild and using some virtual functions. ( Each field has props like tablename, columnname, foreignkey informations etc. ). If now a field has a property "bBindAsBinary", so I have to implement a new method to determin the position of my bindvariable for this column. It would be more simpler to say SqlSetLongBindDatatypeByName( "lsRTCxxx", BIND_...)

- In many cases we are using CDK generated funcional classes for DML operations. We have at least an hierarchical structure of 3 classes eg:
Base
Logs::Base
XXX::Logs
If the binary column is now implemented in the XXX class and we alter some DML relevant information (e.g. insert a new pk column) in one of the base classes (Logs or Base) we have to recalculate the position of the binary column in each XXX instance or to regenerat the instance.
Best Regards
Georg Diczig

Jeff Luther

Re: TD-15232: SqlSetLongBindDatatype by VarName

Post by Jeff Luther » 09 Mar 2011, 19:21

I have added enhancement TD-15232 for this, Georg. And first parm. is a string; you shown "n" in your example, so it would look like:

PROPOSED:
Set bOK = SqlSetLongBindDatatypeByName( StringBindName, NumberDatatype )

I suggest in the meantime, however, that for a SalGetFirst/NextChild loop, for example, you have an nIndex var. (start at 1, not 0) that you increment in your Loop and would provide the # for the bind that needs to have current SqlSetLongBindDatatype() called for it. Since this function already exists, I don't know when an 'extended' version of this same function would become available in v6.

Georg Diczig
Germany
Posts: 175
Joined: 15 Mar 2017, 15:15
Location: Cologne Germany

Re: TD-15232: SqlSetLongBindDatatype by VarName

Post by Georg Diczig » 09 Mar 2011, 21:36

Thanks! The "n" was a typo, sorry!
Best Regards
Georg Diczig

Return to “Enhancement suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: [Ccbot] and 0 guests