Solved TD-17016: Combo Boxes: case sensitive Autofill

Missing or incomplete OpenText Gupta product features? Discuss it here!
Uwe van der Horst
Site Admin
Site Admin
Germany
Posts: 602
Joined: 05 Mar 2017, 14:21
Location: Wetter (Ruhr), Germany

TD-17016: Combo Boxes: case sensitive Autofill

Post by Uwe van der Horst » 10 Jan 2012, 10:42

Since autofill is case insensitive, it is painful to type a new entry which begins with a lower case character when already exists an entry that begins with an upper case.
E.g. I want to type "Elefant" and there already exists an entry "eleven". It is very tricky to do that. I have to type somtehing like "eElefant" and delete the first character.

My request is to have in Attribute Inspector three options for "Autofill":

1. No
2. Yes (case sensitive)
3. Yes (case insensitive)

Regards,

Uwe
Best regards,
Uwe van der Horst
Advo-web GmbH

Jeff Luther

Re: TD-17016: Combo Boxes: case sensitive Autofill

Post by Jeff Luther » 12 Jan 2012, 22:28

Would you give me a context -- i.e., where -- for this AutoFill? BETTER STILL :D How about a test case?

What's puzzling is your statement:
I have to type somtehing like "eElefant" and delete the first character.
Doesn't "elef" say work? "eleven" != "elefant" even if they are both lower case. I don't understand why you have to type "eE" to get it to 'kick' down to "Elefant". This I'd like to see.

Uwe van der Horst
Site Admin
Site Admin
Germany
Posts: 602
Joined: 05 Mar 2017, 14:21
Location: Wetter (Ruhr), Germany

Re: TD-17016: Combo Boxes: case sensitive Autofill

Post by Uwe van der Horst » 13 Jan 2012, 09:21

Jeff Luther wrote:
I have to type somtehing like "eElefant" and delete the first character.
Doesn't "elef" say work? "eleven" != "elefant" even if they are both lower case. I don't understand why you have to type "eE" to get it to 'kick' down to "Elefant". This I'd like to see.
Thank you for looking into this, Jeff.

Here is the test case, a standard combobox with one entry and autofill=Yes.
autofill.jpg
Please try to type "Elephant" (with upper "E"). There is no way to type it without typing something else > 1 character and then deleting the first "e" using the keyboard.

Regards,

Uwe
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Best regards,
Uwe van der Horst
Advo-web GmbH

Jeff Luther

Re: TD-17016: Combo Boxes: case sensitive Autofill

Post by Jeff Luther » 13 Jan 2012, 20:26

Thank you for the clarification and test case. What I see when I run your test looks like I see what you are asking:
* I type in E, 'eleven' is selected
* ditto, type in l, then e, both times 'eleven' selected
* type in p, now 'elep' is displayed - with lowercase 'e'

The issue, then, is that the 'e' in 'elep' in not capital 'E' because it changed to lowercase 'e' when 'eleven' was selected.

So, the enhancement you want is: If new attr. Combo Box "Case Sensitive"=Yes, then if I type in 'E' do not select 'eleven'. Result is, that I can type in 'Ele' and 'eleven' is never selected.

I'll get a TD enhancement request in for this. Done: TD-17016

Return to “Enhancement suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: [Ccbot] and 0 guests