Solved TD-15429: SP2: Report builder does not print RTF correct!

Report bugs and possible workarounds.
Nils Jänicke
Germany
Posts: 413
Joined: 20 Sep 2017, 11:56
Location: Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany

TD-15429: SP2: Report builder does not print RTF correct!

Post by Nils Jänicke » 07 Apr 2011, 08:29

Here is a testcase. A simple report printing the content of a RTF control. There are three example RTF documents to fill into the RTF control to test.
First case: Preview.
"Fill 1" document shows the text correctly, but it has a lot of empty pages at the end
"Fill 2" is correct
"Fill 3" shows the text correctly but has an extra empty page.

Second case: Print
"Fill 1" crashes after 3 pages.
"Fill 2" is printed correctly.
"Fill 3" has an extra page at the end where the text starts from top. THIS BEHAVIOUR IS NOT ACCEPTABLE!!!!
(See files pdf995.pdf and yr309605.pdf, both printed with two different PDF printer drivers, but printing is the same behaviour!!!)

Third case: Print to file
- Output to text does not print any RTF content (it would be great if the text content of the RTF would be written)
- Output to RTF does not print the RTF !!!
- Output to PDF - creates a 5 MB PDF file very bad looking and not useable

Please look at this cases and fix it as soon as possible, printing RTF ist an important new feature our customers are waiting for
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

henri

Re: TD-15429: SP2: Report builder does not print RTF correct!

Post by henri » 07 Apr 2011, 09:39

I'll look at your issues and be back to you asap.
Cheers,

henri

Re: TD-15429: SP2: Report builder does not print RTF correct!

Post by henri » 08 Apr 2011, 11:04

FYI, I a on them and testing with different internal builds. Let you know later on.

henri

Re: TD-15429: SP2: Report builder does not print RTF correct!

Post by henri » 10 Apr 2011, 22:32

Hi,

Here are the defect references:
Preview. "Fill 1" document shows the text correctly, but it has a lot of empty pages at the end
Created TD-15426
Preview. "Fill 3" shows the text correctly but has an extra empty page.
Created TD-15427
Print. "Fill 1" crashes after 3 pages.
Created TD-15428
Print. "Fill 3" has an extra page at the end where the text starts from top. THIS BEHAVIOUR IS NOT ACCEPTABLE!!!!
Created TD-15429
Print to file. Output to text does not print any RTF content (it would be great if the text content of the RTF would be written)
Export to Text was not possible previously. This has been enhanced in our internal build, relating to TD-15287 for which we're currently preparing an EMP.
However, since I some test hanged, I created TD-15431.
Also, I got incomplete sentences at the start of your RTFSample2, I created TD-15432
Print to file. Output to RTF does not print the RTF !!!
RTF to RTF is not supported by TD.
Print to file. Output to PDF - creates a 5 MB PDF file very bad looking and not useable
We have reworked pdf generation and this should be enhanced by coming EMP.
With current internal build, I had some bad font rendering and extra blank pages, so I created TD-15433.
Text was overlapping headers and footers,. This is TD-15434.
For the bad quality (but not as bad as what you can see with SP2) and huge sizes ( 6Megs in your case), created TD-15438

Cheers,

Nils Jänicke
Germany
Posts: 413
Joined: 20 Sep 2017, 11:56
Location: Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany

Re: TD-15429: SP2: Report builder does not print RTF correct!

Post by Nils Jänicke » 11 Apr 2011, 07:45

Thank you. Is there any chance to get these bugs fixed with the next EMP?

Nils

henri

Re: TD-15429: SP2: Report builder does not print RTF correct!

Post by henri » 11 Apr 2011, 09:01

Hi,
The EMP I am talking about is on the way to be certainly available this week. Having done some testing with it, there are some enhancements regarding PDF since I've seen this piece has been reworked. However, it doesn't solve all. I have warned prod/dev mgmt about your reported issues. So will see with them how those problems can be (1) fixed with high priority, (2) targeted to next EMP queue.

Cheers,

Ana Paula Bonani

Re: TD-15429: SP2: Report builder does not print RTF correct!

Post by Ana Paula Bonani » 27 Apr 2011, 15:10

Hello Nils,

The issues on this thread have been scheduled to be included in TD6.0 SP3.

We won't be able to provide an EMP as those defects require more extensive tests than we can do for an EMP.

SP3 is targetted for mid-June but may come earlier.

Best Regards,

EWetzel
Germany
Posts: 262
Joined: 07 Mar 2017, 12:08
Location: Germany

Re: TD-15429: SP2: Report builder does not print RTF correct!

Post by EWetzel » 28 May 2011, 10:44

Hi Ana,

can you confirm that this issues will be fixed with SP3 (mid-June).

My customers asking me every week about the RTF functionality.

The biggest problem for my customers is
"Fill 3" has an extra page at the end where the text starts from top. THIS BEHAVIOUR IS NOT ACCEPTABLE!!!!
best regards
enrico

Ana Paula Bonani

Re: TD-15429: SP2: Report builder does not print RTF correct!

Post by Ana Paula Bonani » 31 May 2011, 17:20

Hi Enrico,

TD-15429 will be fixed in SP3.

I noticed though that you're not the original customer reporting this problem.

We've ran into issues before with customers complaining that their defect showed fixed in the SP fix list but not upon testing, only to find out that it wasn't fixed because the problem was slightly different from the original reprocase.

So I would strongly recommend that you submitted your own reprocase, so we can make sure before delivering.

Thanks,

EWetzel
Germany
Posts: 262
Joined: 07 Mar 2017, 12:08
Location: Germany

Re: TD-15429: SP2: Report builder does not print RTF correct!

Post by EWetzel » 01 Jun 2011, 08:55

Hi Ana,

thank you for the information.

I attached my testcase.

I know there are different issues in depency from the length of the rtf document.

1. Start my test app
2. click preview
3. the preview looks ok, the rtf text goes about 3 pages, only the page header lines on the 2 und 3 page are broken (this comes with the last EMP)
4. print the preview
5. now the rtf text goes only about 2 pages, on the 3 page the rtf text starts from the beginning and overwrites everything,
there is also a big spacing between the end of the rtf text on the 2 page and the line "Detail Block End" on the 3 page,
the page header lines on the 2 and 3 page are not broken
6. click print, the same result as the printing from the preview
7. click create pdf
8. open the created pdf file "pdf.pdf", you see nothing is ok.

best regards
enrico
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Nils Jänicke
Germany
Posts: 413
Joined: 20 Sep 2017, 11:56
Location: Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany

Re: TD-15429: SP2: Report builder does not print RTF correct!

Post by Nils Jänicke » 18 Jul 2011, 15:49

Seems to work fine with SP3. Thank you.

Return to “Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: [Ccbot] and 0 guests