PrintToFile makes borders Bold

Report bugs and possible workarounds.
wyskens
Belgium
Posts: 16
Joined: 21 Apr 2017, 12:15
Location: Oostkamp, Belgium

PrintToFile makes borders Bold

Post by wyskens » 28 Jan 2016, 10:03

When we use the function SalReportPrintToFile(Ex) All the borders in our reports are printed Bold
But if we use the SalReportPrint it all looks normal.

Does anybody know how we can get the border normal in the SalReportPrintToFile?
We're using 5.2 (SP3)

I've included an app with QRP and the examples

Tanks in Advance,
Thomas
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Jeff Luther
Site Admin
Site Admin
United States of America
Posts: 2366
Joined: 04 Mar 2017, 18:34
Location: Palm Springs, California

Re: PrintToFile makes borders Bold

Post by Jeff Luther » 28 Jan 2016, 17:52

Thomas -- looks like a bug in v5.2's ReportBuilder. I set as my default printer and use "CutePDF Writer" and see the problem you report using TD v5.2.

FIXED in v6.1 and later: I tried running your test with both TDs v6.1 and v6.3 -- same PDF writer -- and the PDF lines are not bold.
Jeff Luther @ PC Design
Palm Springs, California

wyskens
Belgium
Posts: 16
Joined: 21 Apr 2017, 12:15
Location: Oostkamp, Belgium

Re: PrintToFile makes borders Bold

Post by wyskens » 03 Feb 2016, 11:38

Jeff,

Thanks for the answer.
So the only thing I can do, is hoping we upgrade to v6.1 or higher :(

User avatar
Charlie
Canada
Posts: 595
Joined: 07 Mar 2017, 18:52
Location: Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada

Re: PrintToFile makes borders Bold

Post by Charlie » 03 Feb 2016, 12:29

Would the problem be not-quite-so-bad if your border was some shade of grey ?

(Great. Now I'm thinking "maybe one of the 50 shades will do. Ugh...)

Jeff Luther
Site Admin
Site Admin
United States of America
Posts: 2366
Joined: 04 Mar 2017, 18:34
Location: Palm Springs, California

Re: PrintToFile makes borders Bold

Post by Jeff Luther » 03 Feb 2016, 19:21

Would the problem be not-quite-so-bad if your border was some shade of grey ?
I don't know, but possibly, if you can change the border color. This is where testing it to find out yourself should provide you your own answer.
Jeff Luther @ PC Design
Palm Springs, California

wyskens
Belgium
Posts: 16
Joined: 21 Apr 2017, 12:15
Location: Oostkamp, Belgium

Re: PrintToFile makes borders Bold

Post by wyskens » 10 Feb 2016, 10:50

Charlie,

Thx for the answer, unfortunatly, that doesn't fix the problem.

but it was worth testing,
Thomas

User avatar
Charlie
Canada
Posts: 595
Joined: 07 Mar 2017, 18:52
Location: Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada

Re: PrintToFile makes borders Bold

Post by Charlie » 10 Feb 2016, 12:33

What if you made the border always bold, but with a lighter colour?

Crazy thought: is there any chance the choice of fonts used in the report is causing the the border to not come out right in PDF ?

Try creating a brand new QRP with nothing on it but a border and one field, and have a simple query feeding the report just a few records. With only a few objects on the report, that will make it quick to test a few different fonts (on the small number of objects in this new QRP) and see if font choices have any impact on PDF generation.

EDIT: Well, not just font choices, but also to see if any wonky behaviour happens because of other things on the report (like break groups, etc.). So a bare-bones QRP with nothing but one field and one input variable.

Return to “Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: [Ccbot] and 0 guests