Column length

forum.advanced.programming (1998-2005)
Philipp Druyts

Column length

Post by Philipp Druyts » 10 Dec 2004, 11:39

 Posted by:  Philipp Druyts 

Hi all,

To set the length of a datafield programmatically you have the function
SalSetMaxDataLength, is there an equivalent function for columns in a table
?

TIA.

Philipp

FRBhote
India
Posts: 2221
Joined: 09 Mar 2017, 05:32
Location: Hyderabad, India

Re: Column length

Post by FRBhote » 10 Dec 2004, 11:53

 Posted by:  F R Bhote 

From online help:

bOk = SalSetMaxDataLength ( hWndField, nLength )

Sets a limit on the number of characters that a user can enter into a data
field, multiline text field, or table window column.

Krister Henningsson

Re: Column length

Post by Krister Henningsson » 10 Dec 2004, 11:58

 Posted by:  Krister Henningsson 

RTFM Philipp,
FAQ-stuff

------------------------------------------------

bOk = SalSetMaxDataLength ( hWndField, nLength )
------------------------------------------------------
Sets a limit on the number of characters that a user can enter into a data
field, multiline text field, or *****table window column*****.
Parameters
hWndField Window Handle. The handle (or name) of a data field, multiline
text field, or ******table window column********.
nLength Number. The character limit.
Return Value
bOk is TRUE if the function succeeds and FALSE if it fails.
No Example

Regards, Kriss

soon Former Gupta Developer :-/

Philipp Druyts

Re: Column length

Post by Philipp Druyts » 10 Dec 2004, 13:06

 Posted by:  Philipp Druyts 

Then I'm looking at a 'feature', I can select a value far bigger than the
maximum length of the field.

Philipp

cschubert
Germany
Posts: 867
Joined: 23 May 2018, 11:26
Location: Germany

Re: Column length

Post by cschubert » 10 Dec 2004, 15:06

 Posted by:  Christian Schubert 

Hmm, guess that's just the function was intended for ... :-)

Christian Schubert

FRBhote
India
Posts: 2221
Joined: 09 Mar 2017, 05:32
Location: Hyderabad, India

Re: Column length

Post by FRBhote » 11 Dec 2004, 07:15

 Posted by:  F R Bhote 

Mybe the problem you are having is entering a number into column and cannot
insert more characteres. Make the column wider and see if you can enter.

Return to “advanced.programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: [Ccbot] and 0 guests