Error 10446

Discussion forum about all things Team Developer 5.x and 6.x
peterhalton
Great Britain
Posts: 19
Joined: 05 Mar 2019, 16:37
Location: Edinburgh UK

Error 10446

Post by peterhalton » 06 Mar 2019, 14:33

I have a 5.1 exe that throws error 10446 on just one (new) client machine which is Win 10.
10446: Failed to convert input( or output) buffer to (or from) Unicode format.
All other clients including other Win 10 on the same site use the same exe fine from the shared server location.
Database is SqlBase 9.0.1
Any ideas?

User avatar
Peter.Hugk
Germany
Posts: 367
Joined: 06 Mar 2017, 07:48
Location: Germany

Re: Error 10446

Post by Peter.Hugk » 06 Mar 2019, 15:27

I just had that error in a test scenario. In my case accidentally there were SQLBase router DLLs of the old version 6.3 instead of those fitting for the TD Environment (7.0) in the apps folder.

Regards,
Peter

peterhalton
Great Britain
Posts: 19
Joined: 05 Mar 2019, 16:37
Location: Edinburgh UK

Re: Error 10446

Post by peterhalton » 07 Mar 2019, 10:16

Peter
Thank you for that but I don't think this can be the case here.
The app is run from a shared location and there has never been any other version installed.
Peter

EwaldP
Austria
Posts: 376
Joined: 07 Mar 2017, 08:00
Location: Austria

Re: Error 10446

Post by EwaldP » 08 Mar 2019, 08:54

Do you have installed SQLBase Client Installationon this machine?
Do you deliver the SQLBase Client files on the application dir?
Application dir is a shared drive?

Please give us more information about your environment.

Ewald
Ewald P. Palmetshofer
EDV-Hausleitner GmbH
4020 Linz
www.edv-hausleitner.at

peterhalton
Great Britain
Posts: 19
Joined: 05 Mar 2019, 16:37
Location: Edinburgh UK

Re: Error 10446

Post by peterhalton » 29 Sep 2019, 21:06

yes, Everything is installed on a shared drive.
NOthing is on the client machine other than a shortcut to the exe on the share.

Uwe van der Horst
Site Admin
Site Admin
Germany
Posts: 490
Joined: 05 Mar 2017, 14:21
Location: Wetter (Ruhr), Germany

Re: Error 10446

Post by Uwe van der Horst » 30 Sep 2019, 13:42

You may install Process Explorer and compare the loaded DLLs and their directories on a working and the non working client.
Best regards,
Uwe van der Horst
Advo-web GmbH

peterhalton
Great Britain
Posts: 19
Joined: 05 Mar 2019, 16:37
Location: Edinburgh UK

Re: Error 10446

Post by peterhalton » 07 Oct 2019, 08:53

Only gdiplus.dll and ntdll.dll listed in threads.
Failing machine looks to have newer version of these presumably from system upgrades.

rrch
Switzerland
Posts: 3
Joined: 24 Jul 2018, 07:05
Location: Switzerland

Re: Error 10446

Post by rrch » 05 Feb 2020, 09:11

Hi Peter
I have a similar problem.
What have you done now so that the error is no longer thrown?

Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: [Ccbot] and 0 guests