Solved TD4.1 cCalendarDropDown bug

Report bugs and possible workarounds for ANSI TD versions
wilhelm
Germany
Posts: 280
Joined: 22 Mar 2017, 08:49
Location: Cologne

TD4.1 cCalendarDropDown bug

Post by wilhelm » 19 Sep 2011, 08:55

Hi everyone,

there seems to be a bug in cCalendarDropDown when using a dual screen installation. When I try to dropdown the calender on the second screen, the calender itsself shows up on the first screen.
Is there a workarround for this bug?
TIA
Wilhelm

wilhelm
Germany
Posts: 280
Joined: 22 Mar 2017, 08:49
Location: Cologne

Re: TD4.1 cCalendarDropDown bug

Post by wilhelm » 19 Sep 2011, 13:51

BTW, this also happens with TD4.2

wilhelm
Germany
Posts: 280
Joined: 22 Mar 2017, 08:49
Location: Cologne

Re: TD4.1 cCalendarDropDown bug

Post by wilhelm » 22 Sep 2011, 08:38

This really is frustrating. Is there really nobody who knows, how to fix this?
I think there must be a way to find the window handle of the calender control and move it to the actual position.
TIA
Wilhelm

Jeff Luther

Re: TD4.1 cCalendarDropDown bug

Post by Jeff Luther » 03 Oct 2011, 17:33

I think there must be a way to find the window handle of the calender control
I would too. How about catching hWndItem on SAM_Create for the control and keeping it?

wilhelm
Germany
Posts: 280
Joined: 22 Mar 2017, 08:49
Location: Cologne

Re: TD4.1 cCalendarDropDown bug

Post by wilhelm » 03 Oct 2011, 18:55

Hi Jeff,

I really don't know what I should make of your post. I am not stupid - well maybe I am, still using TD.
But perhaps you could give some more advice:

1. hWndItem is certainly not the handle of the popup calendar. I suppose it is the hande of the controls data field.
2. What Message would you suggest to react on, when the calendar is about to popup? (SAM_Dropdown at least isn't fired.)
3. When the dropdown takes place, there is an additional window created which pops up in the taskbar. I suppose this is the window I would have to move.
4. Again how would I get it's window handle?

This is a bug in one of your visual toolchest controls and I would really expect a little more enthusiasm on Unify's side for finding at least a workarround.

Sincerly
Wilhelm

Jeff Luther

Re: TD4.1 cCalendarDropDown bug

Post by Jeff Luther » 03 Oct 2011, 19:29

Well, since my simple answer isn't a solution for you, then the next best thing is to provide a small test case. I haven't used 4.1/4.2 in a loooong time so if my reply was too simplistic, sorry. As an experienced (not stupid!) TD programmer, you should be aware, then, that a test case can often help us all out.

wilhelm
Germany
Posts: 280
Joined: 22 Mar 2017, 08:49
Location: Cologne

Re: TD4.1 cCalendarDropDown bug

Post by wilhelm » 04 Oct 2011, 08:24

if you insist....
Please move the window to the second screen and "drop down"
Thanks

Wilhelm

wilhelm
Germany
Posts: 280
Joined: 22 Mar 2017, 08:49
Location: Cologne

Re: TD4.1 cCalendarDropDown bug

Post by wilhelm » 04 Oct 2011, 08:26

... seems *.apt isn't accepted. ?!?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Dave Rabelink
Founder/Site Admin
Founder/Site Admin
Netherlands
Posts: 3231
Joined: 24 Feb 2017, 09:12
Location: Gouda, The Netherlands

Re: TD4.1 cCalendarDropDown bug

Post by Dave Rabelink » 05 Oct 2011, 09:04

Hi Wilhelm,

This issue is present on all TD versions (also TD 6.0) !

I personally do not use cCalendar, but I checked if I could find a quick workaround.
I think I have found one.

I created a sample, download here:

https://samples.tdcommunity.net/index ... rch_mode=f

Look at the messages section of the control class. I have found two messages which can be used to reposition the calendar.
The WM_COMMAND message is the earliest. But the other commented message also works but it seems to make it flicker.

Hope you can use this.
Regards,
Dave Rabelink

Image
Articles and information on Team Developer Tips & Tricks Wiki
Download samples, documents and resources from TD Sample Vault
Videos on TDWiki YouTube Channel

wilhelm
Germany
Posts: 280
Joined: 22 Mar 2017, 08:49
Location: Cologne

Re: TD4.1 cCalendarDropDown bug

Post by wilhelm » 05 Oct 2011, 14:05

Hi Dave,

works like a charm.
Thank you very much for your help. I can't believe its still in 6.0.
I even own a licence for 6.0 and haven't had the nerve to install it yet.
Thanks again

Wilhelm

wilhelm
Germany
Posts: 280
Joined: 22 Mar 2017, 08:49
Location: Cologne

Re: TD4.1 cCalendarDropDown bug

Post by wilhelm » 05 Oct 2011, 17:49

...and another one,

SalTrackpopup Menue doesn't work either on the second screen. It seems the Menue always pops up centered on the undelaying window which is nice when you use it on top of a table window. TPM_CursorX and TPM_CursorY are ignored compeletly.
SAM_ContextMenue sends an incorrect X-screen coordinate and if you use that, the menue pops up on the rightmost position of the first screen.
It's unbelievable....
And I have attached another test. I suppose theese bugs are present in 6.0 as well?

Wilhelm
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Return to “Bug Reports (TD 4.2 and older)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests