(Maybe don't) Replace SQLBase with another database such as MySQL or MS SQLServer

General discussion forum about all databases other than SqlBase.
FRBhote
India
Posts: 2182
Joined: 09 Mar 2017, 05:32
Location: Hyderabad, India

Re: (Maybe don't) Replace SQLBase with another database such as MySQL or MS SQLServer

Post by FRBhote » 13 Mar 2021, 06:38

If the database is not huge it makes no sense to change from Sqlbase.

Our applications connect to both Sqlbase and Sqlserver. We use Timestamp as the rowid.

The only difficulty is that the Decode is a Case and has to be provided for in the TD code. Also the Choose & Find functions require a function written in Sqlserver.

Everything else works with a substitute.

Substitute=ROWID,TIMESTAMP
substitute=@UPPER,UPPER
substitute=@DECODE,DECODE
substitute=@LOWER,LOWER
substitute=@left,left
substitute=@LEFT,LEFT
substitute=@SUBSTRING,SUBSTRING
substitute=@mod,MOD
substitute=@MOD,MOD
substitute=@nullvalue,ISNULL
substitute=@NULLVALUE,ISNULL
substitute=@right,RIGHT
substitute=@RIGHT,RIGHT
substitute=@ROUND,ROUND
substitute=@CHOOSE,dbo.SCHOOSE
substitute=@CODE,ASCII
substitute=||,+
substitute=@TRIM,dbo.TRIM
substitute=@ABS,ABS
substitute=@LENGTH,LEN
substitute=@SCAN,charindex
substitute=@FIND,dbo.FIND
substitute=SYSTABLES,MsysObjects
substitute=@MID,SUBSTRING
substitute=Mid,SUBSTRING
;substitute=@VALUE,
;substitute=@MID,MID
substitute=@VALUE,VAL
substitute=@DATEVALUE,TO_DATE
;substitute=not null with default,DEFAULT '0' NOT NULL
;substitute=NOT NULL WITH DEFAULT,DEFAULT '0' NOT NULL
substitute=not null with default,NOT NULL DEFAULT '0'
substitute=NOT NULL WITH DEFAULT,NOT NULL DEFAULT '0'
substitute=pctfree,
substitute=PCTFREE,
;substitute=AUTOINCREMENT,IDENTITY(1,1),
;substitute=NUMBER,DECIMAL
;substitute=DATE,DATETIME,
substitute=SYSTABLES,SYS.TABLES
substitute=pctfree 10,
substitute=PCTFREE 10,,

User avatar
Steve Leighton
Site Admin
Site Admin
New Zealand
Posts: 294
Joined: 05 Mar 2017, 20:57
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand <--> Stroud, England

Re: (Maybe don't) Replace SQLBase with another database such as MySQL or MS SQLServer

Post by Steve Leighton » 14 Mar 2021, 21:26

Igor Ivanovic wrote:
.....The support is really great, I was helped out although sometimes it was not even directly related to OT Gupta products.
Worth every cent I invested in OT Gupta.
+1000.
Igor Ivanovic wrote:
.....SQLServer as I was forced once to use it and for me it was a nightmare being used to work with SQLBase.
ditto. SQLServer is ok, but no way the panecea.
FRBhote wrote:
.....If the database is not huge it makes no sense to change from Sqlbase..
Agree ++. Unsure what's classed as 'huge', but we running a 165Gb SQLBase dB - no issues. Some tables/indexes >5m rows, with no ( not many ) dramas. Maybe UNLOAD takes a while though :)
Greetings from New Zealand
Steve Leighton

Bankside Systems Ltd.
UK ♦ Australia ♦ New Zealand

www.banksidesystems.co.uk

Image

isential
Germany
Posts: 16
Joined: 05 Jul 2017, 15:18
Location: Germany

Re: (Maybe don't) Replace SQLBase with another database such as MySQL or MS SQLServer

Post by isential » 15 Mar 2021, 14:53

Thank you very much!

But if I have a product that I want to sell for about 2,000 EUR, I have to add about 1,300 EUR for SQLBase if I need more than one user access at the same time. This makes the product unattractive.

Therefore the question about another SQL database, which is suitable for us in small installations (2-5 users). GLS or not, in our case we have all the business logic in the application: no triggers, no stored procedures, no nothing! We only store data and that's it. Unfortunately, this is where the RowId gets in the way, because we use it extensively.

As soon as we have some more time, we will convert the databases to MySQL and/or SQLServer.

Thanks again!

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests